Adverts with us
Pclasp (@admin)
Feb 19th 2021, 10:03 pm

Visa Requirements for Nigerian Citizens

Visa requirements for Nigerian citizens are administrative entry restrictions for Nigerian passport holders established by the authorities of destination countries.

Nigeria’s passport is currently ranked 98th in terms of freedom of travel by the Henley Passport Index, as Nigerian citizens can travel to more than 20 countries around the world without obtaining a visa.

Before traveling, nationals of Nigeria should check visa requirements as some countries may have a visa policy that differentiates them from other destinations and that travelers must provide or meet. These requirements depend on the purpose of the visit and the period of stay.

Policies for visa-exempt countries for Nigerian citizens usually permits the traveler to visit visa-free for short periods of between 3 and 6 months for tourist, business, or transit reasons, depending on the country of destination.

In some cases, it is necessary to obtain an electronic travel authorization to visit a visa-exempt country for short periods of stay. For any other purpose or longer stays, Nigerians must apply for a visa before traveling to these destinations.

Nigerians that need a visa for their destination must either obtain an embassy visa through a government diplomatic office, a visa on arrival at a border checkpoint, or an electronic visa through an online application.

The most convenient way to obtain a visa for Nigerian passport holders is through an electronic application, which greatly expedites the application process.

Applying for an eVisa from Nigeria also eliminates the need for travelers to visit embassies or consulates in person, or queue at border checkpoints.

In order to visit most countries, whether they require a visa or not, it is usually necessary for Nigerians to have a passport valid for the entire length of stay in their destination.

Browse the boxes below for more information about visa types for Nigerian nationals.

List of visa countries for Nigeria passport holders in 2021
Nigerian passport holders must obtain a visa in advance to travel to a number of countries around the world, whether an embassy visa from a government diplomatic office or an electronic visa through an online application, regardless of the purpose of visit or period of stay.

Currently, there are around 200 countries and territories across the world that require Nigerians to have a visa before traveling.

There are also up to 20 countries that permit Nigerian residents to obtain a visa upon arrival, although this often involves waiting in long queues at a border entry checkpoint to submit an application.

An electronic travel visa authorization for Nigerian citizens is issued for either a single entry or multiple entries, for short periods of varying stay depending on the destination country.

If Nigerian nationals wish to travel to an eVisa country for longer periods or for purposes not permitted with an electronic visa, it is necessary to request an appointment at the embassy or consulate of their destination.

There are a large number of countries, more than 180, that require Nigerians to apply for an embassy visa no matter the length or purpose of the intended stay.

Numerous types of visa for Nigerian citizens can be obtained from a government office, whether a tourist visa, business visa, student visa, work visa, transit visa, or other visa option.

Find below a complete list of the countries for which Nigerian citizens require a visa.

Electronic Travel Visa Authorization
An electronic travel visa authorization program is an online system that permits Nigerian citizens to obtain either an eVisa or online visa waiver online.

These programs have been implemented for Nigerian citizens to expedite the visa application process and eliminate the need to visit an embassy or consulate in person, or wait in long queues at border checkpoints to apply for a visa on arrival.

There are currently some 20 countries that permit Nigerian residents to obtain a single or multiple entry electronic travel visa authorization, for a total period of stay up to 90 days and for tourist, business, or transit purposes.

The requirements to obtain a travel authorization or eVisa for Nigerians depend on the country of destination. However, It is usually necessary to have a passport with validity of between 30 days and 6 months. In some cases, this document must contain between one or two blank pages to receive entry/exit stamps at the border.

To apply for an electronic travel visa authorization, Nigerian citizens are required to register an online visa application form with personal data, and passport and travel information. Some countries also often require supporting documentation to be uploaded, such as an International Vaccination Certificate.

Before finalizing and submitting the form for review, some countries require Nigerian applicants to pay a processing fee, which may be made using a credit/debit card.

Once approved, an electronic visa travel authorization will be sent via email and/or electronically linked to the passport.

Below you can find a full list of the countries citizens of Nigeria can visit by applying for an Electronic Travel Visa Authorization.